CSO Goes South starts this week×
Photo: Martin Ollman, Plagued, 2020, digital image, Part of the First Response exhibition at Tuggeranong Arts Centre.

2021 Annual Report:

Our Vision:

A vibrant connected and creative Tuggeranong Community

Our Mission:

To be an inclusive and welcoming organisation which promotes and fosters diverse creative opportunities, connecting and engaging our community and visitors with the arts.

Our Values:

To be ethical, inclusive, respectful and collaborative.

Our priorities over the next 5 years:

  • Develop inclusive, engaging and quality programs for the whole community
  • Foster and strengthen TCAA’s community relationships, networks and partnerships
  • Invigorate ACT artists and arts workers through promotion, creative collaboration and skills development
  • Provide sound and effective corporate governance to ensure a sustainable and fiscally responsible organisation.

Board Members

Don Cumming, Chairperson/President

Don was a journalist and communications manager in print, radio, television and the public sector for many years. He is a former ABC Canberra News Editor and Political Correspondent for Radio Australia.  He spent 25 years in various Federal Government communications roles including as a Ministerial Press Secretary before he (semi) retired to the quiet life of freelance journalism in 2009.  Don served for over 20 years as the ACT Branch President of the Media, Entertainment and Arts Alliance.

Jenny Hargreaves, Vice Chair

Jenny Hargreaves held senior leadership roles at the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare for over 20 years, until 2020, with responsibilities for data and corporate governance, and statistical work on Australia’s hospitals, mental health services and the safety and quality of health care. Jenny is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (2019).

Karl Maftoum, Treasury

Karl is the Chief Information Officer at the Australian Communications and Media Authority, and has significant experience in the management and delivery of large projects in the public sector. Karl holds a Bachelor of Engineering from the University of Canberra.

Marina Talevski, Secretary

Marina has held senior Strategic Design and Research roles in the Australian Public Service, and has worked in local community organisations that seek to promote social justice for Canberra’s most vulnerable. She has a background Economics, Political Science (The University of Melbourne) and Psychology (The Australian National University). She is currently involved in social entrepreneurship that seeks to advance justice health outcomes for Canberrans.

Hamish Sinclair, Committee Member

Hamish is a research fellow at the University of Canberra specialising in capital city strategic planning and has over 25 years of international experience in planning and design. He has extensive previous board experience including on the Planning Institute Australia and 2XX Community Radio boards. Hamish has a submitted a PhD while working with Canberra Urban and Regional Futures

Annika Romeyn, Committee Member

Annika Romeyn is a practising artist who creates immersive works on paper that combine printmaking, drawing and watercolour to convey her experiences of being in the landscape. Her work is represented by Flinders Lane Gallery, Melbourne. Annika also works as an Artist Educator at the National Gallery of Australia and has previously served on the Boards of Australian National Capital Artists and M16 Artspace.

Ray Watt, Committee Member

Ray has a background of accountancy and finance having worked both in public practice and in various Commonwealth Government departments. He is currently the Treasurer of the Riverina Travelling Bowlers.  During his working life he was a member of various professional bodies associated with accounting and secretarial practice and in retirement has retained his membership as a Fellow of the Institute of Public Accountants

Catherine Day, Committee Member

Catherine is an experienced workplace relations consultant specialising in helping small to medium business with all their Industrial Relations needs. She has a Master of Employment Relations and a Bachelor of Social Science, Labor and Industrial relations from the University of Canberra. Catherine also has experience on Boards, including the Stella Bella Little Stars Foundation and Holy Trinity Primary School

Bindie Stewart-Fitzpatrick, Committee Member


The Board of the Tuggeranong Community Arts Association governs in accordance with the constitution and the governance policies of the association. The Board supports the work of the CEO, who manages all aspects of the organisation’s operations. All enquiries regarding the Arts Centre and its programs should be directed to the CEO, who will seek Board input when necessary. Tuggeranong Community Arts Association holds the Annual General Meeting in May where the association members elect a new Board for the coming year. The meeting date is advised one month in advance.


Individual Membership $17.50. Community and Arts Organisations $55.00

Members receive:

  • A copy of the Annual Report
  • Invitations to TCA events such as gallery openings, screenings, festivals, etc.
  • Voting rights at the Annual General Meeting
  • The opportunity to be nominated to serve on the TCAA Board where specific skills apply.

Governance Charter

Strategic Plan


Annual Reports: